food · recipes · sugar free living

RECIPE: LEMONY BEETROOT HUMMUS

I mentioned recently on the blog that in August I would be quitting sugar, so for the last 6 days I have sworn off the sweet stuff and have been exploring more savoury ways of living my life. As a BIG snacker (and eater in general…I’m talking 4 – 5 snacks in addition to 3 generous-sized meals per day), it’s vital that I have something to munch on throughout the day so I have been putting a lot of effort into ensuring I always have something sugar-free on hand. Despite the initial cravings and the frustration, life without sugar has been good so far. Already the idea of a huge bowl of ice cream is looking a lot less appealing, and I’m very curious to see what a piece of milk chocolate might taste like to me in 25 days’ time. We’ll see.

In the meantime I have been very busy experimenting in the kitchen, and quickly came to the realisation that savoury dips and spreads would be my number one saviour during this challenge as far as snack time is concerned. They’re healthy, filling, portable and quick and cheap to make, too. I recalled that during my vegan days my kitchen used to churn out an enormous quantity of hummus, so I grabbed my stick blender, added a grated beetroot just for the fun of it, and voilà!

Stay tuned for more sugar-free recipes, as well as my final report at the end of the challenge, of course 🙂

IMG_7972

IMG_7973
Chickpeas, garlic powder, mustard, tahini and lemon ready to be mooshed
IMG_7974
Radioactive?
IMG_7969
My new favourite way to serve my creation: smothered on crackers with lashings of avocado and pesto!

LEMONY BEETROOT HUMMUS

  • ½ – 1 small beetroot, peeled and grated
  • 1 x 420g can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tbsp hulled tahini
  • ¼ tsp fine garlic powder
  • ¼ tsp Dijon mustard
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Rind of ½ a lemon, or to taste
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a tall measuring cup (mine came with my stick blender) and blend with a stick blender until very smooth. You could also use a regular blender or food processor. Add salt and pepper to taste, and water to achieve a smoother consistency, if desired (I like to add a few teaspoons). Transfer to a clean, wide-mouthed jar and store in the fridge.

5 thoughts on “RECIPE: LEMONY BEETROOT HUMMUS

    1. Oh no, that is a shame indeed 😦 Now that I’ve started this sugar-free thing, they’re becoming quite a staple in our house. The colour really is amazing!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

