life · travel

WE’RE OFF ON A MINIMALIST ADVENTURE!

Well, friends, our bags are packed and tomorrow morning we’ll be off to begin our minimalist wedding adventure in France! The lead-up to this trip has been a little less calm that I would have hoped, thanks to my frantic attempts to cram as many French words and phrases as I could into my brain and my general nervousness at the prospect of meeting my in-laws for the first time, but now that the trip is truly around the corner I feel as if serenity has descended on me. I’m not sure why, but I’m rolling with it! I guess all my hard work at trying to slow down before our departure has finally paid off. Thanks, minimalism!

This is the first time I’ll be travelling as a true minimalist, and I can already see that it’s going to pay off. Our two small suitcases have been stocked with all the clothes, toiletries, supplements and other miscellany we’ll need but aren’t even full yet, so I’m pleased about how breezy travelling with less is going to be. It will be easier for us to get around, we’ll have less things to worry about losing and there won’t be that pesky dilemma of which outfit to wear, since we’ll only have a few!

As for my zero-waste aspirations, I’m not sure what will happen and how easy it will be to keep our waste to a minimum while travelling and spending time with the in-laws. I’ve stocked our bags with hankies, cloth bags of various shapes and sizes, produce bags, two melamine cups, a melamine plate and a reusable coffee cup, so I am hoping these items will help us at least somewhat reduce our waste while travelling. I’ve also filled myself in on how to request various non-disposable items as well as refuse disposable ones in French, which I think will come in handy. I have been following a number of French zero-waste vloggers on YouTube for the last little while, so I know for sure that ZW is a ‘thing’ over there, but just how easy it will be to implement in our particular circumstances, it’s impossible to know beforehand.

This will be my last post for several weeks, but when we are back at home and settled in, I can’t wait to share with you some of our experiences and reflections on travelling as a minimalist and aspiring zero-waster. Until then!

2 thoughts on “WE’RE OFF ON A MINIMALIST ADVENTURE!

  1. Gah! I’m so excited for you! Just enjoy the journey and don’t be too hard on yourself if zero waste doesn’t work out perfectly. I can’t wait to read all about your adventure when you get back!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Brittany! ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s great advice as I really do tend to be too hard on myself with those kind of things. My mantra on this trip will be to simply go with the flow. Can’t wait to catch up with you and your blog when I get back! Take care xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

