food · recipes · sugar free living

RECIPE: EASY PALEO BANANA BREAD (IN THE BLENDER!)

Sometimes it feels like minimalism and cooking don’t mix, and even though I know they do (see this post 🙂), with our trip overseas coming up it feels like it is taking forever to use up all the food we have on hand and to keep our meals simple during the countdown to takeoff. I am currently trying my best to clear our fridge/freezer out before we leave (and the pantry, too, even though that isn’t 100% necessary) so that we can turn it off during our absence and save energy (and the associated costs, too!). This means we are very hesitant to buy new ingredients at the moment, or even replenish the ones we have when they run out. So having simple, fuss-free recipes on hand is essential if I am to stay sane before our trip and still have something to put as a healthy snack in our work lunchboxes.

Enter this super easy banana bread which ticks all the boxes in our house. It’s minimalist-friendly because you only need seven ingredients and all you have to do is put everything in the blender and bake it, I kid you not! It’s also Mr SLE-friendly because it’s sugar-free, gluten-free, dairy-free and grain-free – quite important since he is on a roll when it comes to eating well and exercising, and has lost 12kg since the beginning of the year! Naturally, he has stopped eating all baked goods but regularly makes an exception for this healthy treat. This recipe is also easy to make zero-waste. The dry ingredients I am able to buy in my own containers from my local bulk store, and the eggs, bananas and coconut oil are easy to buy plastic-free. The one waste-creating element I am having trouble eliminating, however, is my use of a single strip of baking paper down the centre of the tin. I have tried without the paper and even though I let the loaf cool for over an hour before removing it, a considerable amount stuck to the bottom of the tin. I suspect, however, that if I refrigerated the loaf in its tin overnight before carefully removing it with a silicone spatula, I could eliminate the baking paper. I will need to try this next time!

IMG_7823
I forgot the vanilla essence, but you get the idea (n.b. ideally, your bananas should be riper than these ones)

I based this banana bread recipe on these muffins from the Taste website, so I can’t claim authorship of this recipe; I just tweaked it a little and adapted the cooking time to suit a loaf tin.

IMG_7822
Tasty morsels of low-carb goodness

I like to serve this warmed up slathered in no-added-sugar peanut butter, but I warn you, it’s highly addictive that way!


EASY PALEO BANANA BREAD

Ingredients

  • 4 small very ripe bananas (or equivalent – they should weigh about 360g in total when peeled)
  • 4 eggs
  • ⅓ cup melted coconut oil, cooled if hot (about 70g)
  • ½ cup coconut flour
  • ½ cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional but recommended)

Method

Place all ingredients in a blender and pulse until the mixture is smooth and no pieces of banana remain. Transfer mixture to a greased (and lined – optional!) loaf tin and smooth the top with a spatula or the back of a metal spoon. Bake at 180ºC for approximately 50 – 60 minutes (time will vary between ovens – in mine it needs about 60 mins) or until the centre is just cooked. Cool completely in tin before carefully loosening from tin, removing and slicing. Store slices in the fridge.

6 thoughts on “RECIPE: EASY PALEO BANANA BREAD (IN THE BLENDER!)

  1. I am 100% going to make this!!! I’m following a primarily paleo diet at the moment and I find paleo baking so frustrating! Banana bread is also my favourite ‘treat’- so basically you’ve made my day!

    Like

    1. Yaaaay! Isn’t it nice when things come along at the perfect time? 🙂 I hope you enjoy this banana bread Brittany! I have found paleo baking pretty unimpressive as well until now…I tried making a few cakes and brownies but they were so-so. This, on the other hand, is seriously good. Speaking of things coming along at the perfect time, I found some bananas in the gutter on my way home from work today (actually just sitting there in a bag in the rain, no kidding) so I think I be able to make one more sneaky loaf before we leave on Saturday! Breakfast at the airport sorted 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

